February Book Haul

I am trying to be more conscience of Book Bought vs Books Read Ratio so I can start getting my chunky TBR list down. I will go over numbers etc on my Wrap up post later this month but I decided by doing book hauls might be a good way to keep me accountable, while also shouting about all the pretty books!

The Books

This Woven Kingdom
Taharah Mafi

This Woven Kingdom
Illumicrate January Book

What The Book is about…

Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people—bestselling author Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology.
To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.
The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom—and the world.
Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi.

Why I am excited:

The Illumicrate version is absolutely gorgeous. This was a bit of unknown for me. it wasn’t really on my radar until It arrived in my January box. The blurb makes it sound really intriguing.

The Ivory Key
Akshaya Raman

The Ivory Key Duology #1
Illumicrate Bonus January Book.

What The Book is about…

Vira is desperate to get out of her mother’s shadow and establish her legacy as a revered queen of Ashoka. But with the country’s only quarry running out of magic–a precious resource that has kept Ashoka safe from conflict–she can barely protect her citizens from the looming threat of war. And if her enemies discover this, they’ll stop at nothing to seize the last of the magic.
Vira’s only hope is to find a mysterious object of legend: the Ivory Key, rumoured to unlock a new source of magic. But in order to infiltrate enemy territory and retrieve it, she must reunite with her siblings, torn apart by the different paths their lives have taken. Each of them has something to gain from finding the Ivory Key–and even more to lose if they fail. Ronak plans to sell it to the highest bidder in exchange for escape from his impending political marriage. Kaleb, falsely accused of assassinating the former maharani needs it to clear his name. And Riya, a runaway who cut all family ties, wants the Key to prove her loyalty to the rebels who want to strip the nobility of its power.
They must work together to survive the treacherous journey. But with each sibling harbouring secrets and their own agendas, the very thing that brought them together could tear apart their family–and their world–for good.

Why I am excited:

This book was on my most anticipated list. I am looking forward to picking it up. It sounds like it is going to be a really lush read with such an interesting plotline. Sounds like it is going to have some awesome twists and turns.

Only a Monster
Vanessa Lynn

Fairyloot January Book

What The Book is about…

It should have been the perfect summer. Sent to stay with her late mother’s eccentric family in London, sixteen-year-old Joan is determined to enjoy herself. She loves her nerdy job at the historic Holland House, and when her super cute co-worker Nick asks her on a date, it feels like everything is falling into place.
But she soon learns the truth. Her family aren’t just eccentric: they’re monsters, with terrifying, hidden powers. And Nick isn’t just a cute boy: he’s a legendary monster slayer, who will do anything to bring them down.
As she battles Nick, Joan is forced to work with the beautiful and ruthless Aaron Oliver, heir to a monster family that hates her own. She’ll have to embrace her own monstrousness if she is to save herself, and her family. Because in this story . . .
. . . she is not the hero.

Why I am excited:

I had an Arc of this before it even arrived in the Fairyloot box. And I am loving it. I still have a little bit to go to finish it but I am hoping to get to it very soon. I just had some blog tours I had to focus on first. It is such a fun read, really fast paced and engaging.

The Honours
Tim Clare

The Honours #1

What The Book is about…

TRUE HONOUR IS ENDLESS. JOIN US.
1935. Norfolk.
War is looming in Great Britain and the sprawling country estate of Alderberen Hall is shadowed by suspicion and paranoia. Thirteen-year-old Delphine Venner is determined to uncover the secrets of the Hall’s elite society, which has taken in her gullible mother and unstable father.
As she explores the house and discovers the secret network of hidden passages that thread through the estate, Delphine uncovers a world more dark and threatening than she ever imagined. With the help of head gamekeeper Mr Garforth, Delphine must learn the bloody lessons of war and find the soldier within herself in time to battle the deadly forces amassing in the woods . . .
The Honours is a dark, glittering and dangerously unputdownable novel which invites you to enter a thrilling and fantastical world unlike any other.

Why I am excited:

I have been listening to Tim Claire’s podcast Death by 1000 cuts for a while and have started his couch to 80k boot camp and 100 day writing challenge, with one of my WIPs. I really enjoy his writing advice and his approach to it all so I thought it was about time I actually picked up one of his books. It does seem like something I would love, historical fantasy with dark elements!


I am kind of pleased with how small this haul was this month. OK I still have my Goldsboro SFF, Fairyloot and Illumicrate for February still to arrive but they will go on March’s count. Only 4 books added to the shelves but one I am already reading so its only really added 3 to my TBR shelf!

I would love to chat all things bookish with you! You can comment down below or find me on Twitter or Goodreads!

Happy Reading!

3 thoughts on “February Book Haul

  1. The trouble is that reading book blogs is death to any hope of keeping on top of TBR lists. I’m not going to add any more books to mine but I really like the sound of The Honours. Such a problem😃😃

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s