Friday Five – Urban Fantasy Series to Finish

I can’t Find who started the Friday Five book blog meme. It seems to crop up in many different style such as “Five for Friday”, “Five on Friday” , “FridayFive Challenge”. I also can’t find a topic list like you would have for the Six on Sunday meme. Therefore I am just doing my own thing and setting my own topics just so I can chat books with you.

This week topic is

Five Urban Fantasy Series I need to finish

I have a lot of series on my TBR but lately I have been really into my urban fantasy novels racing though a couple in the last few weeks so this is are series I need to finish.

The Books

Ink and Bone Series
Kevin Hearne

About the book:

There’s only one Al MacBharrais: Though other Scotsmen may have dramatic mustaches and a taste for fancy cocktails, Al also has a unique talent. He’s a master of ink and sigil magic. In his gifted hands, paper and pen can work wondrous spells.
But Al isn’t quite alone: He is part of a global network of sigil agents who use their powers to protect the world from mischievous gods and strange monsters. So when a fellow agent disappears under sinister circumstances in Australia, Al leaves behind the cozy pubs and cafes of Glasgow and travels to the Dandenong Ranges in Victoria to solve the mystery.
The trail to his colleague begins to pile up with bodies at alarming speed, so Al is grateful his friends have come to help—especially Nadia, his accountant who moonlights as a pit fighter. Together with a whisky-loving hobgoblin known as Buck Foi and the ancient Druid Atticus O’Sullivan, along with his dogs, Oberon and Starbuck, Al and Nadia will face down the wildest wonders Australia—and the supernatural world—can throw at them, and confront a legendary monster not seen in centuries.

My Thoughts:

I am currently reading book 1 in this series and loving it. I am definitely diving into book two as soon as I can.

Crow Investigates
Sarah Painter

My Review Book 1

About the book:

London is Lydia Crow’s city so when a man is found hanged under Blackfriars Bridge, she takes it personally.
Driven by her desire to improve her fledgling P.I. skills and an innate sense of justice, Lydia investigates. Even when it seems as if the Silver Family might be involved, Lydia refuses to back down.
The Silver Family, who run the finest law firm in London, have a gift for persuasion. In the Bad Old Days it was said they could make a man jump off a roof by convincing him he could fly. But that’s all in the past… Isn’t it?
Everybody wants something from Lydia: Her Uncle Charlie wants her to join the infamous Family Business, her ghostly flatmate wants her to test her power, DCI Fleet wants a relationship, and the Silver Family want her to keep her nose out.
Trouble is, Lydia has never been much good at taking orders. And London in a heatwave is a dangerous place to be…

My Thoughts:

Another recent read and another surprise for me. I really enjoyed the set up to this world and I am really keen to keep reading.

Alex Verus
Benedict Jacka

My Reviews:
Book1
Book2

About the book:

Welcome to Fountain Reach. Ancient seat of the Aubuchon dynasty. Majestic setting of the White Stone tournament.
Alex Verus’ (not necessarily reliable) reputation attracts all sorts. Most are plain bonkers. Yet there’s one invitation he just can’t refuse.
At Fountain Reach, Alex is perfectly placed among the noted and notorious to figure out why apprentices have been vanishing. But the tournament is a minefield of ancient grudges and new threats and Alex can’t afford to miss a trick as his elusive adversary stays one step ahead in this most dangerous of games.

My Thoughts:

I am still not sure how I feel about Alex as the MC. I have enjoyed these books and Alex has grown on me a little so I am willing to continue.

Inspector Paris Mysteries
Andy Redsmith

My Review – Book 1

About the book:

Inspector Nick Paris is back in this magical crime mystery perfect for fans of Douglas Adams and Ben Aaronovitch.
Inspector Nick Paris, now also known as ‘the one who stopped the demons’, has become an unlikely celebrity in the magical world. He is desperate to return to tackling more ordinary crimes on his home turf of Manchester.
However, the fates aren’t in his favour when he is called upon again by his more unusual police colleagues to solve a gruesome killing. The only suspect is a dwarf trying to make it in the rap business. But are there more mysterious matters afoot?
Paris is thrust back into the world of magic and murder – but who will face the music?

My Thoughts:

I read book one as an ARC but I had no idea book two had even been release. I loved the pun filled lighthearted-ness of book 1 so I am hoping for more of the same.

The Lost Child of Lychford
Paul Cornell

About the book:

It’s December in the English village of Lychford – the first Christmas since an evil conglomerate tried to force open the borders between our world and… another.

Which means it’s Lizzie’s first Christmas as Reverend of St. Martin’s. Which means more stress, more expectation, more scrutiny by the congregation. Which means… well, business as usual, really.

Until the apparition of a small boy finds its way to Lizzie in the church. Is he a ghost? A vision? Something else? Whatever the truth, our trio of witches (they don’t approve of “coven”) are about to face their toughest battle, yet!

The Lost Child of Lychford is the sequel to Paul Cornell’s Witches of Lychford.

My Thoughts:

This might be my next read. Its been a while since I read book one and they are novellas so they are short reads and really entertaining.

2 thoughts on “Friday Five – Urban Fantasy Series to Finish

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s