Arc Review – Glassheart

Title: Glassheart

Author: Katharine Orton

Release Date: 5/11/2020

stars

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I received a free eARC copy from Walker Books , via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

From Waterstones: Through the glass, the magic is waiting…

Nona and her uncle travel everywhere together, replacing stained-glass windows in war-torn buildings. When a mysterious commission takes them to the lonely moors of Dartmoor, Nona discovers a wild and powerful magic which threatens everything. Can Nona protect those she loves – even if it means fighting darkness itself?

An enchanting magical adventure set in the wild moors of Dartmoor – the second middle-grade novel from the bestselling author of Nevertell; beautifully imaginative a rich adventure about determination, courage and the power of love, set in the aftermath of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Sophie Anderson and Catherine Doyle.

My Thoughts

I will admit I was initially drawn to this book as my nickname when I was younger was Nona, so to find an Main character with that name is kind of fun. I really enjoyed this book. It is a historical fantasy with a wonderfully magic, yet dark fairy-tale vibe to it. It is a beautiful and sad story dealing with grief, of how to show kindness even in the darkest of times. I really loved how it weaved the main characters thoughts and feelings in with the realm of the fae. The fact that this realm was dark, dangerous and scary really set the tone for the battles she faced. Nona was a fantastic MC she is kind, loyal, loving and determined but she also questions her decisions when she needs to, weighs up all her knowledge to inform her actions and it makes her really interesting to follow and learn about. The magic system also has a great balance, half beautiful and delightful the other dark and devious. Overall I thought this was a great middle grade read.


I would love to chat all things bookish with you! You can comment down below or find me on Twitter or Goodreads!

Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s